How To Magnet

• MEMO1DOMINION
  • MEMO1DOMINION's Avatar Topic Author
  • Commander
  • Commander
  • Thank you received: 114

How To Magnet was created by MEMO1DOMINION

Thanks to great input from the kickstarter backers from the comments section.

Michael Wong 1 day ago

Magnets Pt 1.
On the question of magnets, I've been using them for nearly ten years with my Flames of War tanks and other 15mm models. And the biggest piece of advice I'd give is don't bother. The work involved isn't over difficult, but it's often fiddly. Even without having models on hand (cheers Palladium, you FUCKS) a resin tank turret is more forgiving on mistakes than a plastic 1/300 Regult artillery pod.

But here's my advice for magnet noobs that want to give it a go. You need to find a vendor of rare earth magnets, they are also known as neodymium magnets. These are available in a very wide variety of sizes and shapes, but most importantly different strengths. The strength of the magnet is a big factor - a lot of the magnets that are packaged for sale at games shops are actually very strong. This strength is needed for larger models from GW and PP (Dreadnaughts, Warjacks etc) but these magnets are going to be way too strong for plastic parts. High strength magnets can be quite firm to pull apart, the issue is you'll be pulling on thin plastic parts and there's a high chance you'll rip apart your magnetised minis just trying to change parts.

Take a look at this product page, you'll see that they list their magnets with different "pull strength:
magnet.com.au/rare-earth-magnet/rare-ear...product/listing.html
The magnet strength is often presented as "NXX" where XX is a measure of the strength. A chart can be found here:
www.kjmagnetics.com/specs.asp