Criticism can be Destructive

• LadyGrimes
  • LadyGrimes's Avatar Topic Author
  • Robotech Master
  • Robotech Master
  • Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy!
  • Thank you received: 947

Criticism can be Destructive was created by LadyGrimes

That is, especially when it's coming from the worst critic; yourself.

We all have something we enjoy doing, something that can make the real world seem absent at the time, because we're so drawn to whatever it is we like to do. But, there's always a voice in the back of your head, a voice that will tell you, you're not as good as you thought.

It doesn't say you could do better, it says you'll never get better, that you'll always be horrible at it.
This is when self criticism becomes destructive, and you start to see things in a new light. This is when everything stops being fun, instead it becomes something you dread.

Yes I am going through this, and yes it's causing me to believe I'm not good at what I do. For the past few months I've been trying to fight these feelings, but sadly I'm losing that battle. I don't want to lose my motivation, I don't want to end up hating what I do, but as of now I am not thinking straight and I'm letting my emotions get the best of me.

I love art, I really do I just wish I knew why I can't satisfy myself anymore.
I have dreams just like anyone else, but right now I don't think they will ever come true. They're just pipe dreams, and they're hanging by a thread because I'm pondering the thought of completely giving up on them
and it's all because of this self destructive criticism.

Those of you who are talented, don't let it happen to you
cause I'm sure you'll make it big one day
but as for me, I don't see the point in even trying anymore
why keep doing it, if I can't even please myself?
I'm better off finding another hobby that my self loathing can ruin too.

and also I'm tired of being ignored by a certain someone
I thought they were my friend, but I guess I was deluded into believing that as well.